Duterte orders drastic patch up of Office of Cabinet Secretary


Duterte orders drastic patch up of Office of Cabinet Secretary

New executive order revamps the Office of the Cabinet Secretary, reverting it to its old name,

Cabinet Secretariat, and taking away its supervision of 8 agencies

Consequently, through an executive order, President Rodrigo Duterte removed almost all of the powers of the


Cabinet Secretary he had given to the post at the start of his presidency.

Executive Order No 67, signed on Wednesday, October 31, transfers 8 agencies that had under

the Office of the Cabinet Secretary when it was still led by Leoncio Evasco Jr to other departments.


Duterte’s very first EO transferred a total of 12 agencies under Evasco. In the years that followed,

subsequent EOs whittled this down to 9.

Besides, latest EO means the next Cabinet Secretary will now only be in charge of establishing the Cabinet


meeting agenda, facilitating Cabinet meeting discussions, and coordinating between the Cabinet Clusters.

It retains its role as head of the Cabinet Cluster secretariats and will continue to sit in Cabinet Cluster meetings

and the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) Board meetings.


Trusts aide of Duterte

These radical changes come after Evasco, a former communist rebel and trusted aide of Duterte,

resigned from the post of Cabinet Secretary to run for Bohol governor.

Nevertheless, Presidential Spokesperson Salvador Panelo has said that Davao 1st District Representative Karlo


Nograles is being considered to take over Evasco’s post.

Below is the list of affected offices and where they will be transferred to:

Technical Education Skills and Development Authority – transferred to Department of Trade and Industry (DTI)


Cooperative Development Authority – transferred to DTI

National Commission on Muslim Filipinos – transferred to the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG)

Philippine Commission on Women – transferred to DILG


The National Youth Commission – transferred to DILG

Then National Anti-Poverty Commission – transferred to the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD)

National Commission on Indigenous Peoples – transferred to DSWD


Presidential Commission on the Urban Poor – transferred to DSWD

Besides,  EO says the transfer of the above agencies meant to “strengthen the democratic and institutional framework of the executive department,” promote efficiency, and eliminate “roadblocks and impediments” to the attainment of the administration’s agenda.


Institutional system of the official division

Meanwhile, the EO says the exchange of the above organizations intended to “fortify the just and institutional system of the official division,” advance productivity, and dispense with “barriers and hindrances” to the achievement of the organization’s plan.

New name. The Office of the Cabinet Secretary will likewise now known by its old name, Cabinet Secretariat. This the workplace’s name before Executive Order No 99, issued amid the Benigno Aquino III organization.


Annulled workplaces. Duterte additionally canceled two workplaces that were under the OCS – the Office of Participatory Governance (OPG) and the Performance and Projects Management Office (PPMO).

The OPG had been responsible for connecting grassroots associations to government endeavors to lighten destitution and organization changes. Its work force had likewise been dynamic in Kilusang Pagbabago, an across the nation development in help of Duterte-guaranteed changes.


Further, the PPMO, in the mean time, followed targets set by divisions and groups Its capacities performed by the Presidential Management Staff.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: