Majority of Senators elect Sotto as Senate Pres. in exchange with Pimentel

sotto vs pimentel

Sotto to become Senate President

Hence majority share of the Senators have mark a determination choosing Senator Vicente Sotto III,

the present larger part pioneer, as finally new Senate President and supplanting Sen  Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III, who as of late made light of the gathered move to unseat him.


The determination said “By a dominant part vote of the considerable number of legislators , Senator Vicente C Sotto III is therefore chose as the new Senate President to release the obligations and forces allow to him by the principles of the Senate,”


Therefore the greater part alliance has 17 individuals which incorporate Sotto and Pimentel.


Moreover a draft resolution signed by majority of the senators circulated on Thursday, May 17, supporting a reorganization in the chamber that would install Majority Floor Leader Vicente Sotto III as the new Senate president.


Consequently one of the 14 signatories confirmed the authenticity of the document, even as Senate President Aquilino Pimentel III denied there are efforts to replace him.

Besides early on in the 17th Congress, Pimentel and Sotto were known to have agreed to a term-sharing agreement.


Two well-placed sources told Rappler that Pimentel was set to give up his post in favor of Sotto so he could focus on his re-election bid Pimentel indirectly confirmed this in an interview with Rappler in August 2017.


But now that his part in the supposed shared term is up, Pimentel denied having a deal with Sotto.


Moreover Senator Panfilo Lacson, who publicly mentioned the supposed deal in a press conference, even had to apologize after Pimentel denied it.


READ MORE: Sen. Bong Revilla: Aquino request me to convict CJ Corona

The 14 representatives who marked the determination were the accompanying:

1. Senate President Pro Tempore Ralph Recto

2. Representative Sonny Angara

3. Representative Loren Legarda

4. Representative Joseph Victor Ejercito

5. Representative Nancy Binay

6. Representative Sherwin Gatchalian

7. Representative Francis Escudero

8. Representative Richard Gordon

9. Representative Gregorio Honasan

10. Representative Panfilo Lacson

11. Representative Manny Pacquiao

12. Representative Joel Villanueva

13. Representative Cynthia Villar

14. Representative Juan Miguel Zubiri

READ MORE: Pres. Duterte to declare War with China over West Philippine Sea dispute in a condition

Senators to rearrange its Authority

It is thusly settle by a larger part vote of the considerable number of Senators to express its sense to rearrange its authority and therefore choosing Senator Vicente C Sotto III as the new Senate President,” it include


While Sen. Effortlessness Poe is likewise anticipate that would sign the record not long from now.


Hence Sen Pimentel, a partner of President Rodrigo Duterte in the Partido Demokratikong

Pilipino-Laban (PDP-Laban) was chosen as Senate pioneer toward the beginning as a result of the seventeenth Congress.


Furthermore there are just three in the dominant part piece  Pimentel, Sotto, and Senator Grace Poe who were not signatories in the determination.

READ MORE: American political Scientist, Impacts Sereno, and De Lima against Duterte

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.